Home

Cardbox Talk

CardboxForumsCardbox Talk > "How to create new databases, switch from frm to fmt"

How to create new databases, switch from frm to fmt

I am very new to cardbox and need to know how to move two sets of data to Cardbox for Windows

Current user: [none]
Register / Log In · Help

Posted By Post

eurodrone

20-Jul-2017 13:23

Hello,

Desperately need help! I have been tasked with creating three databases: BOOKS, PAHMPLETS and EU.

BOOKS already exists on Cardbox for Windows.

However PAMPHLETS and EU only exist as a set of INTERNAL and EXTERNAL files. I was sent a whole bunch of files, which apparently need to be converted from FRM to FMT. The extension appears to be .FIL.

When I try to open them up in Cardbox it says 'Cardbox cannot open this database file (file not found).

I have also downloaded the upgrade3.exe file, but it can't take any of the .fil files I have. Nothing happens.

I don't really understand what to do next?

I simply want to create two more databases in Cardbox Windows by converting these .fil files over to .FMT.

Any guidance would be hugely appreciated!

- Eurodrone

eurodrone

20-Jul-2017 13:24

Edit: I mean I want to transfer everything to Cardbox 3.1. Sorry if there's any confusion there.

bert

20-Jul-2017 15:43

I understand this:
Books: you have a database books.fil and books.fmt? I do not read there is another file containing data for database books?
PAMPHLETS and EU: I understand you have PAMPHLETS.dmp or PAMPHLETS.ext? Same for EU?
For that databases: in case of there is only an .ext file: In that file all used fields are mentioned. Open that file by example with Notepad (not change, not save!) and you will see. You can make then a new database containing fields which also are found in the ext file. After this you can import the .ext file into the just created zero records database.