Cardbox Talk

CardboxForumsCardbox Talk > "Help Please"

Help Please

Current user: [none]
Register / Log In · Help

Posted By Post

Raasay1

14-May-2015 04:22

I'm relatively new to cardbox. How do you put accented letters (grave, acute, umlaut etc) into the fields? I'm a bit of a novice with computers.

Chris H

14-May-2015 05:43

Hi, I use accented letters all the time in my databases. To input ANY letter / character that is not represented on the keyboard use the key combination Alt+(NumPad-NNNN) where NNNN is a number between 32 & 255 sometimes needing a 0 (zero) prefix. Thus Alt+0203 will give you an Ë. I use a small freebee program to print out a character chart to help me find the right numbers but Windows allows one to look them up from a 'special (fonts) menu' which I am not so familiar with. You also need to be aware of how Cardbox treats these characters when Searching etc. (Read about Collating sequences).

bert

14-May-2015 08:54

If you have an US keyboard with the @ above the 2: install in Windows the US International keyboard in Windows.
If you type first " then E , Windows understands: Ë.
You can add it by the international settings (configuration screen) of windwows.
Don't need a list of numbers then...
R.

Raasay1

14-May-2015 10:26

Thanks for the information Chris H and Bert. I use an English keyboard so Bert's suggestion is not able to help me. I'll try the other.

Mary Doyle

14-May-2015 19:58

Hi Raasay1
Let me know if that doesn't work. I have an accents database and a macro to copy accented letters, symbols etc as required. May be a little cumbersome, but quite quick when you get used to it. I find it very handy, as I often need to use foreign languages. I actually draft foreign language emails first in Cardbox as it is more convenient for me. I can send it to you if other solutions don't work.

Mary

Raasay1

17-May-2015 11:11

Hello Chris H,