CardboxForumsCardbox Talk > "Relational"

Relational

How to create

Current user: [none]
Register / Log In · Help

Posted By Post

David-sussex

5-Jan-2013 17:14

I am new to cardbox and it seems ideal for what I want. I have created my first simple data base easily and successfully. I would now like to expand it and create a relational file.

For example I have a list of wildlife and I want to add an ever growing list of the dates and places I have found them. Is there a very simple guide to doing this or better still is there a sample file I can download and use as a guide and build on that.

Thanks

David.

Charles Welling

5-Jan-2013 19:16

A Cardbox file is not relational; it never is. That's one of the reasons why they are to simple to make and maintain. Cardbox has however a very powerful feature: relational searching. Relational searching does not depend on the structure of the files. It comes down to the following:

Database A and database B contain records and these records contain data. Both databases can be searched and edited independently.
If A and B have some data in common, you can use that data to find records in B using the contents of records from A as a search command.

For instance:

A and B both contain the names of animals. Let's assume this field is called SPECIES.
Open both databases. Activate B and set up a relational search, i.e. tell B to find all records containing a specific name in the field SPECIES and to take these names from the active record in A. The fields that are linked this way do not necessarily have to have corresponding names.

Suppose you then browse through A. Record 1 contains "hare". This name is sent to B and a selection appears of all records with "hare". You browse to record 2 from A which contains "falcon". The selection in B immediately changes and displays all records of falcons. Etc.

You can also set this up the other way around, which means you can have A show all the specifics of wildlife that occur in B.