CardboxForumsCardbox Talk > "Cataloguing and managing a 35 mm slide collection"

Cataloguing and managing a 35 mm slide collection

Current user: [none]
Register / Log In · Help

Posted By Post

Glyn406

10-May-2012 21:10

Hello

I'm a newbie with absolutely no experience of databases. I need to find a solution to help me catalogue and manage the use of my 35mm slide collection, and Cardbox has been suggested as a way forward. The full details of what I'm trying to do can be found at http://screencast.com/t/jJCw2JMcSJ

Martin Kochanski has been kind enough to have a look at this and says that he thinks Cardbox could do all that I want except perhaps for the last of my requirements. He suggested that I post this message to see if any experienced Cardbox user had thoughts on this point, so it's over to you!

bert

10-May-2012 23:01

Hi,
My photo collection (until year of 2000 35 mm slides) of trains is on http://stortenbeker.eu. All images are as 800 pixel wide/high thumbnails stored in Cardbox. The images store on full dimension would make the database slow. Better is to launch the original by the database if you need full size. I use the fast image viewer Irfanview for this.
The web interface is done by ASP, querying Cardbox. On my network I can launch the 4800 dpi originals direct from Cardbox.
Web site database is a copy of the original database. It is updated by the 'master' database when needed.

In another application for my job I also store images. Into the record is also the jpg file stored. So the image is showed ++ it works as file container.
Now about 12000 records, 61 GB database. Works fine.

For a beginner there is a way to go to develop this. However, I cannot find an alternative for such a thing then Cardbox.

First try to know what you want. If that is clear, you will find a way to make it with Cardbox.
Regards
Bert

Juan

11-May-2012 08:45