Home

Cardbox Talk

CardboxForumsCardbox Talk > "Need sample club database"

Need sample club database

I am new to Cardbox. My use case is a club database (volunteer organization) would love to get a sample to get started

Current user: [none]
Register / Log In · Help

Posted By Post

rjeffries

1-Feb-2012 19:20

Cardbox looks like an elegant system, and is what I want to use to get my wife extracted from an Excell
nightmare (that I have to do more with each month than I care to). It's under 1,000 records,
pretty simple but needs some logic.

I was hoping to find a smaple I can downlaod, but Cardbox samples I have seen do not fit this use case.

thanks.

rjeffries@gmail.com
@ronkjeffries

p.s. I am a little worried by how few comments there are here. Not a great sign. ;)

JayCee

2-Feb-2012 09:11

Hi, I am sending you a copy of the database I use for keeping chess players records for Norfolk by email.
It may help you or may not!!!

Charles Welling

2-Feb-2012 09:41

Being a longtime Cardbox user, I think it's a good sign that there's little to talk about. Cardbox just works.
But as to your question: you did not mention what kind of data your database is supposed to hold. A "club database" is a rather undefined term. However, I think you will be able to start from scratch.
Start Cardbox and tell it to create a new database (File > New Database). Give it a name.

Read what it says on the screen and do what it says.

Think of a field (item) you would would like to store in your database. Let's assume one of the things you need to store is people's names.

Use Insert > Field (you're in the Edit Format mode now) to tell Cardbox you would like to have a new field in your database.
Use your mouse to draw a box on the screen. Give it any size you like.
A window will pop up in which you can type a name for the field, e.g. NAME.
Another window will pop up showing the Field Properties. You can see several options under Index. Choose Index > All.
Click OK and use File > Save.