Home

Cardbox Talk

CardboxForumsCardbox Talk > "loading images into record ( cardbox running under WINE in Linux )"

loading images into record ( cardbox running under WINE in Linux )

Cannot load images into image field of new record.

Current user: [none]
Register / Log In · Help

Posted By Post

mos

4-Jun-2011 18:12

Hi,

I am running the free months trial of cardbox (Home edition) under WINE in Linux.
I have created a simple image database, with 4 txt fields and one image field, but cannot load any images into the database.
I get an error message listing the path of the file ( a jpg ) saying this file cannot be loaded.

Any help would be very welcome, my main reason for testing cardbox3 is so i can use it firstly as a way to organize and retrieve
photos, so i really would like to get it all working ( by the end of the month :-)

Kind Regards Mike

Juan

5-Jun-2011 07:44

Welcome Mike, I have been using Cardbox for years and love it although i am far from an expert, just a happy user so until such time as someone gives you proper advice, I´ll tell you what I know.
I also use it to store images and even video; but on Windows. I have no knowledge of Linux. The database you built must have a designated image field. Then when you wish to load an image into the field, you just right click while in the image field to open a menu which will include "load image from file" and "load non image from file". The former is the one you will use to load images; and the latter for docs, PDFs and video files.
Enjoy Cardbox, makes life a lot easier.

mos

5-Jun-2011 09:49

Hi Juan,

Thank you for , such a quick, response.
I have designed my first little database to test the free months trial installer on Linux (WINE).
I have table/record with 5 fields; 4 are text fields ( date, name, id, comment ) and number 5 is an image field (you are given the option