Cardbox Talk

CardboxForumsCardbox Talk > "merging to labels"

merging to labels

Current user: [none]
Register / Log In · Help

Posted By Post

oily

21-May-2009 10:14

Hiya! please help as I'm a newbie and getting incredibly frustrated! I'm trying to send info from cardbox to create address labels. I've tried various things but nothing is working. Could it be because I'm only on the trial period? And I have openoffice, not word.. do I need to pay out for Word?
Basically I created a merge box, but that seems to mean nothing because no program asks for that info, just for fields! When I go into Open Office it offers to do the mail merge wizard but can't find my cardbox file! Please could someone give me very basic instructions of what to do because I'm losing the will to live!! Thank you in advance!

bert

21-May-2009 11:48

- edit format
- choose file / printersettings and desing your label or choose a known one
- make a mergeblock within the borders of your label, containing all wanted fields
- save format
- print...!

Help point 527.... ;-)

regards
bert

oily

6-Jun-2009 21:41

Hi Bert

This was very helpful, thank you! But I now have a problem with the merge block. If I move it to the printable area it covers over my other fields. I can't seem to move the printable area boundaries. Also I can't find anything to help me print just a selection of the record. Do I need to set up a whole new set of records just for printing?
Sorry to be a pain!

regards
Oily

bert

7-Jun-2009 11:14

If I understand you well you did add a mergeblock into your native format.
For label printing it is better to make a separate format (Edit-Format-New) containing your mergeblock and add to this format it own printer/paper settings.

Every format can contain all or a selection of the database fields or a mergblock with relevsnt fields
Right?

Regards
Bert

oily

7-Jun-2009 19:09

Hi again Bert