CardboxForumsCardbox Talk > "Help I am a new user"

Help I am a new user

I need help if possible for a simple macro to add figures in a field

Current user: [none]
Register / Log In · Help

Posted By Post

Sossageking

10-Apr-2008 09:33

Hello, I am new to Cardbox, and have just joined a company using it. I have been asked to find out if it is possible to run a macro (i have no clues on macros) that would be able to add figures in a field we have called selling_prices, then display the figure in another field called total.

Please can you help, I cannot find a manual in our office and everyone that could help me has decided to be on leave

Mary Doyle (DAF)

10-Apr-2008 10:21

Pause "Select and tag records"
SelectTagged

x = 0

n = RecordCount

For i=1 to n 'Start loop through records

x="0"+x+Fields("selling_prices")
NextRecord
  Next

LastRecord

EditRecord
Fields("total")=x
SaveRecord

It could be written differently and more efficiently, but the above might let you see more clearly what is happening. Hope it helps.

Mary

Sossageking

10-Apr-2008 10:27

Thankyou for this, i have corrected two of my own mistakes, one of the fields is actually selling_price and the other is value. With these changes made, i now get an error type mismatch:[string: ""] position the macro line 4, character 3.

Would this mean anything to you?

Do i also need all the gaps in between the lines like you have shown above

Sossageking

10-Apr-2008 10:32

Mary,

This is the macro I am using, the error is mismatch:[string: ""] position the macro line 10, character 3.

Pause "Select and tag records"
SelectTagged

x = 0

n = RecordCount

For i=1 to n 'Start loop through records

x="0"+x+Fields("selling_price")
NextRecord
  Next

LastRecord

EditRecord
Fields("value")=x
SaveRecord

Charles Welling

10-Apr-2008 11:06

The error message is given when a field that is used in a calculation is empty.
Modify your macro as follows: