CardboxForumsCardbox Talk > "Macro Programming"

Macro Programming

Printer Macro for Virtual Printer

Current user: [none]
Register / Log In · Help

Posted By Post

Alpha

25-Mar-2008 16:08

I was hoping someone would be in a position to help. I am not a programmer, and can only do the very simple basics of recording a macro on Cardbox for Windows. I am hoping someone can help me produce a macro to enable me to print to a virtual PDF printer (PrimoPDF) rather than my own HP printer. I would set this up as a macro on a special menu, but have absolutely no idea where to start. Can anyone help me?

Iuliana

25-Mar-2008 23:36

"very simple basics of recording a macro on Cardbox for Windows" is all you needto know for this:
I assume PrimoPDF is or may be installed as a printer driver (if not try CutePDF free download from http://www.cutepdf.com/Products/CutePDF/writer.asp)

Make sure you have selected the record(s)/format you want to be printed to PDF, than:
Start recording: [menu bar]File-Print - [in the "Print" window] click "Setup" - [In the "Printer Settings" window] click the Printer arrow and choose your PDF writer from the printers list - press OK Stop recording

Charles Welling

26-Mar-2008 06:44

And if you want to do some fine-tuning, you may consider using the following one-line macro, which allows you to specify the format (view). This makes it possible to have your special menu or macro button in the format you usually use for editing. Printing to your PDF printer then automatically uses the correct format. You would not have to switch formats.
Substitute YOURFORMAT (leave the quotation marks) for the name of the format you wish to use, and substitute YOURPRINTER for the name of your PDF printer. If you wish, you can copy the right name from the macro you recorded before.

This macro prints a single record, i.e. the record you are currently viewing. If that is what you want, do not change anything else.